Today as part of the Conviron Scholars program we had a panel discussion about careers in academia, and I thought I’d share my experiences as a PUI (Primarily Undergraduate Institution) prof, and encourage you to consider this as a possible career option.

First, there are many “flavors” of PUIs. Some are small and private, some are large and public. Some have very little expectation for faculty engagement in research, and for some it is a crucial part of the job.

From 1995 – 2009, I was a professor at Harvey Mudd College (HMC), a small, private liberal arts college (currently ranked 12th in the US News Rankings). Liberal arts colleges are amazing places to be a student or a professor (and they’re not cheap – current tuitions are more than $50,000 per year). There are two strong benefits to being a student at a liberal arts college – small classes, and faculty whose primary role is to teach.

I know many professors at small liberal arts colleges and most agree that it is a fantastic career, provided that you enjoy teaching and find it rewarding. I’ve also known some who felt frustrated by the challenges of doing research at a small liberal arts college and left.

Teaching at a PUI

The teaching loads vary considerably from place to place. At Harvey Mudd (and many of the more selective liberal arts colleges), faculty research is valued, so the teaching loads are high but not onerous. It’s not uncommon for a R1 professor (R1 is a designation for the most productive research universities- Berkeley and the University of Illinois for example) to give only a handful of lectures per year, whereas if you are at a PUI you can teach 3 – 6 (or more) courses per year. My typical course load was about 10 – 12 contact hours per week, which doesn’t sound like a lot except for the fact that in addition to the classroom time there is course preparation time, time spent outside of the classroom meeting with students, and time spent on assessment and feedback.