Dr. Steven Anderson
Dr. Steven Anderson

In today's Plant Phenomics First Author Insights, we invited Dr. Steven Anderson to share his insights as the first author of Prediction of Maize Grain Yield before Maturity Using Improved Temporal Height Estimates of Unmanned Aerial Systems published in The Plant Phenome Journal.

Tell us about yourself a little bit, what's your current position, your education experience and how did you get into science.

I am a Postdoctoral Researcher within Dr. Brian Pearson's lab at the University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Science’s Mid-Florida Research and Education Center leading the Industrial Hemp Pilot Project research in Apopka, FL.
I received my B.S. in Biology, with a minor in Chemistry, from the University of Central Florida. I attended Texas A&M for my graduate studies earning my M.S. and Ph.D. in Plant Breeding under Dr. Seth Murray within the Maize Breeding and Quantitative Genetics Program. My M.S. thesis was focused on improving breeding efficiencies through in vitro, tissue culture methodologies and studying the effects of advanced matting designs (specifically multiparent advanced generation intercrossing) on linkage disequilibrium and quantitative trait loci (QTL) mapping power and resolution. My Ph.D. dissertation was focused on the implementation of unoccupied aerial systems (UAS; a.k.a. drones) withing a plant breeding program, specifically focused on improving phenomic prediction of grain yield through temporal growth analysis and accessing the use of UAS imaged derived phenotypes for temporal mapping of QTL.
Outside of science, I am still a major plant nerd. I spend a great deal of my time tending to my garden, growing vegetables, and collecting tropic fruit species with syntrophic and perma- agriculture in mind. I enjoy rock climbing, traveling, hiking, fishing, craft beer, video games, and spending my free time with family and friends.