Chenyong Miao
Chenyong Miao

In today's Plant Phenomics First Author Insights, we invited Chenyong Miao to share his insights as the first author of Semantic Segmentation of Sorghum using Hyperspectral Data Identifies Genetic Associations published in Plant Phenomics.

Tell us about yourself a little bit, what's your current position, your education experience and how did you get into science.

Currently I am a graduate student working in Dr. Schnable's lab at University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) as a Research Assistant.
I received my BA in Biotechnology and MA in Bioinformatics from Henan University of Science & Technology (HUST) and Fujian Agriculture & Forestry University (FAFU) respectively in China. Then I came to the US to pursue my PhD at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) in Dr. Schnable’s Lab. Although I major in Agronomy here, I consider myself as a computational biology guy.
I was born in a very small town in Henan Province which is one of the most populous provinces and I think it was also the biggest farming province in China at that time. So I grew up seeing different crops, mainly wheat and rice planted in different seasons every year. I love crops and the endless landscape of farmland in my hometown. I started getting into real scientific research when I was a senior undergraduate at HUST. I joined a research team mainly doing wheat breeding and was supervised by Dr. Chunping Wang who is still actively dedicated in the wheat breeding programs in China. During that period, I learned how to extract DNAs from frozen leaf tissues and also realized the importance of statistical methods and computational biology tools in a successful research program.
Other than the research job in the lab, I am interested in different physical activities such as hiking, playing basketball and soccer. I also like to watch football games but never have a chance to get my hands dirty.