Lindsay Erndwein
Lindsay Erndwein

In today's Plant Phenomics First Author Insights, we invited Lindsay Erndwein to share her insights as the first author of Comparative biomechanical characterization of maize brace roots within and between plants, currently on bioRxiv

Tell us about yourself a little bit, what's your current position, your education experience and how did you get into science.

I am a PhD candidate in Plant and Soil Sciences at the University of Delaware. I work in Dr. Erin Sparks' lab. I earned my bachelor’s degree in materials science and engineering at Penn State University with a focus on entomology. My fascination with the biomechanics of insect and plant-derived materials led me to pursue graduate research in plant and soil sciences at the University of Delaware.
I have always wanted to pursue some type of life science. If you were to ask preschooler-me what I wanted to be when I grew up, you would enthusiastically hear, “entomologist!” I love insects and ultimately have them to thank for being where I am today. In high school, this love of insects morphed into a fascination with the materials that they produce, like silk and resilin, and how we can use them as a template for human technology. My career decision was solidified when I read the book “Biomimicry: Innovation Inspired by Nature,” by Janine Benyus. I completed my undergraduate degree in materials science and engineering with foci in entomology and biomaterials at Penn State. After that, the threat of climate change became dire and I decided to use my training to tackle the challenge of improving agricultural production to feed the world. Leaping from entomology and engineering to plant science was daunting at first, but I soon realized that my background provided a unique interdisciplinary angle to the research.