Lin Meng
Lin Meng

In today's Plant Phenomics First Author Insights, we invited Lin Meng to share her insights as the first author of Urban warming advances spring phenology but reduces the response of phenology to temperature in the conterminous United Statespublished in PNAS.

Tell us about yourself a little bit, what's your current position, your education experience and how did you get into science.

I am a Ph.D. candidate at the Department of Geological & Atmospheric Sciences, Iowa State University studying Environmental Science. I received my B.S. degree in applied meteorology in Shenyang Agricultural University, China in 2013 and M.S. degree in meteorology in Chinese Academy of Meteorological Sciences, China in 2016. I was also a visiting student at Potsdam-German Research Centre for Geosciences in Germany during 2016 – 2017.
My research focuses on understanding the changes in plant phenology under urbanization and climate change. In addition, I was a research intern at Oak Ridge National Laboratory during three summers from 2017 to 2019 working on phenology modeling.