Founded in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is one of the oldest scientific membership organizations in the United States; it is charged with advising the nation on science and technology issues. Every year, the NAS elects new members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, and NAS membership is considered one of the highest honors for a scientist. 

This year, nine plant scientists have been elected in the new class of 120 members and 26 international members. There are now 2,403 members and 501 international members across science and technology fields after this year’s election. 

We asked the newly elected plant scientists about how the news of their election to the NAS reached them, what inspires their research, and for their advice for early career researchers. Please join us in recognizing their contributions to the plant science community.

Barbara Valent

Kazuo Shinozaki

Loren Rieseberg

Elizabeth Kellogg

Gregg Howe

Xiaofeng Cao

Spencer C.H. Barrett

Alice Barkan

Elizabeth Ainsworth