The WiPB Committee met on 6/12/2020 [Via GoToMeeting]. Committee members present include: Laura Wayne (Chair), Eva Farre, Li Tian, Grace Miller, Katie Murphy, Kelly Gillespie, Aruna Kilaru, Sylvia Lee, and Crispin Taylor.


During this meeting we finalized our plans for the virtual Plant Biology 2020 Worldwide Summit  (July 27th - 31st). We are organizing two workshops and a networking meet up. Additionally, there will be  the Plenary Symposium named after Mary Clutter. Here's the schedule:

This workshop on Implicit bias is jointly organized with the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee (formerly known as the Minority Affairs Committee).


The 2020 Sharon Gray WYITA awardees may use their awarded money to attend this year, next year, or split it for both. All eight recipients will join us at #PB20!


A new Women Pioneers in Plant Biology Biography has been recently added to our page: Vjera Petaj Fink.

We are still working on organizing additional webinars and assembling the short "2-minute" videos.

We also discussed the #ShutDownSTEM day and reflected on how we can reduce systemic racism in Plant Biology.


Our meeting ended with sharing something positive that is going on in our lives. This was an uplifting way to end our meeting and think about the things we are grateful for.


Don't forget to check us out on Twitter: @ASPB_WiPB!