Summary of WiPB Committee meeting -January 2021

The WiPB Committee met on 01/22/2020 [Via Zoom]. Committee members present included: Eva Farre (chair), Sabrina Chin, Sibongile Mafu, Katie Murphy, Jenny Mortimer Dianne Pater, and were present. Sylvia Lee and Crispin Taylor also attended.

We discussed the planning and organization of upcoming webinar ideas. In the works is one on writing diversity statements and the follow up network session of the highly successful PB2020 workshop on Science Leadership and Policy featuring Dr. Sharlene Weatherwax and organized by Li Tian (WiPB).  So stay tuned!

We also discussed our activities planned for PB2021, which are a workshop on “Building Sustained Commitments to Equity and Inclusion” in collaboration with EDIC and a collaboration with the ECPS & Membership committee to organize a workshop on “Careers Beyond Academia”, led by Sibongile Mafu and Katie Murphy respectively. Katie Rogers has finalized our 2-minute videos project on career advice and made the available on the ASPB website. Check them out!

Finally, we discussed and finalized the ASPB 2021 Women's Young Investigator Travel Award (WYITA) awardees.

The WiPB Committee will be meeting again March 1st. Don’t hesitate to contact us if you would like to participate in any of our efforts.

Don't forget to check us out on Twitter: @ASPB_WiPB!