I enjoyed reading Andrew’s sage suggestions for how to live frugally to reach financial security, but then I read Sterling’s essay highlighting the plight of food-insecure students: what a stark contrast.

Two of Andrew’s key messages are “save” and “invest” – sound advice, but increasingly, advice that even the children of solidly middle-class families are finding impossible to follow.

Consider the cost of higher education. When I was a student in the 1980s, the annual tuition fees for a California resident student at UC Berkeley totaled $1000. Now, tuition at Berkeley is $15,000 per year; for comparison, the inflation-adjusted price I paid in 1980 is $3000. Like Andrew, I’m frugal, and by living frugally I was able to cover my tuition and residence costs through summer and part-time jobs without needing to take out any loans.

I don’t know anyone in my sons’ 20-something peer groups (in the US or UK) who isn’t accruing debts, even at state-supported universities. Furthermore, as Sterling points out, even with loans students find it difficult to eat properly.

Difficult. To. Eat. Properly.

Graduating with debt isn’t a great way to start one’s adult life. And then there are other factors: increasing levels of un- and underemployment even for those with good degrees, rising costs of housing especially in regions where jobs can be found, and healthcare’s rising costs and declining accessibility. Inflation-adjusted wages are flat or decreasing, while living costs keep going up, making it more and more improbable that someone can pay off their student loans AND save for retirement.  Increases in the age at which pensions can be claimed make it harder for those new to the job market to find work, and further diminish the prospect of a financially-viable retirement. Climate change and changing patterns of migration will add even more uncertainty to the future.